Who we are

Executive Committee
Programme Officers

The Board of Trustees holds ultimate authority within the Balfour Project, under the regulations of the OSCR. An Executive Committee organises and manages the day-to-day work of the charity, either directly or through delegation from the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees meets quarterly. Trustees serve a three-year term, which is renewable twice, after which a Trustee must step down for two years before being eligible for re-election. There are currently 14 Trustees. The current Chair of the Board is Andrew Whitley and the Vice Chair is Dr Phyllis Starkey. The Treasurer is Timothy Mattar. Trustees are not paid fees for their work, but may be reimbursed for travel expenses, when appropriate.

The Executive Committee meets monthly, or more often if required. Members are appointed by the Board of Trustees and serve three-year terms, which are renewable. The Executive Committee currently comprises five members. The members of the Committee elect the Chair, who is currently Mike Scott-Baumann. Members of the Executive Committee are not paid fees for their work, but may be reimbursed for travel expenses, when appropriate. The Executive Committee has sub-committees for Communications and Fundraising.

The work of the Executive Committee is assisted by a team of paid, part-time Programme Officers.

Patrons offer informal guidance and support to the charity but do not hold formal meetings. The Patron’s principal point of contact is the Chair of the Trustees. There are currently 11 Patrons.

An Advisory Forum provides advice to the Trustees and the Executive Committee within the framework set by the Charity’s Mission Statement. Members serve three-year terms, which are renewable. They are appointed by the Advisory Forum itself. There are currently 44 Advisory Forum members, some of whom also serve as Trustees and Patrons. The Chair is currently The Very Revd. Nicholas Frayling.

A significant part of the Balfour Project’s work comprises the Peace Advocacy Fellowship, under which approximately 15 undergraduate and postgraduate students undertake research projects that promote the charity’s objectives. The Fellowship programme is overseen by John McHugo, who is the Secretary of the Board of Trustees, and managed by members of the part-time team.

The Board of Trustees file an Annual Report and Financial Statement. The latest such Report and Statement, in respect of the year to 31 January 2023, can be found here.

The Balfour Project is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO), registered and regulated by the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR). The Balfour Project’s registered address is 30 South Oswald Road, Edinburgh, EH9 2HG, Scotland. Its Registered Charity Number is SC047090.


This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.